Skip to content

Who says you cannot regain fitness?

February 5, 2009

I read a real good quote adapted from an old Chinese proverb:  “The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it”

I know so many seniors in the assisted living centers who are amazed by the progress they are making in their capabilities as a result of coming to classes.  I used to be bothered by the ones who choose not to come for any number of reasons.  I hear:

  • I am too old
  • I am too weak
  • I am too frail
  • I don’t like it (they don’t even know what it is yet they use this excuse)
  • and so on

These are the things they tell themselves, so they get in their own way.  The only ones who say they cannot do it are themselves!

I also see the same thing in the general public. People set in their ways not thinking about how much better life everyday life could be.  I also hear, life gets in the way of exercise.  I say, you allow yourself  to make everything else a priority over a few minutes a day of  simple exercises that could change your life.

For example,  yesterday I was at a persons home and we needed to change floors a number of times.  After the first set of stairs the person started to breath harder. After the second set, he could not catch his breath.  At age 62 ,  you would think he could and should be in better shape.

  • What is your level of fitness? 
  • Can you climb a set of stairs easily?
  • Can you touch your toes?
  • Do you struggle to get pullover shirt or sweater on?
  • Can you walk up and down isles in a grocery store without the use of  the cart for support?
  • Can you reach the top shelf in your closet?

What stops you from working on fixing these issues if you have them?   Please tell me a few reasons that you have chosen to increase your fitness,  or tell me why you choose not to.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

