Skip to content

Purging the “I can’t” attitude from your outlook on aging fit.

December 28, 2012

2013 is just a few days away and I would bet that many, if not most of us are ending 2012 with the same or similar attitude we entered the year with.

Would you agree?

Unfortunately the “I can’t” attitude carries a heavy weight of not participating in any sort of exercise or healthy lifestyle changes for a number of reasons.

Some of the common excuses are:

  • I’m too old
  • I’m too far along
  • I’m too lazy
  • I’m too sore
  • I’m too heavy
  • I can’t
  • I won’t

The old saying, and what I teach my senior (and the younger also) is there is no better time to start than today.  I have to ask,  are doing more activities now than you were in January?

For myself, I know I am lazy.  I don’t feel like stretching on a daily basis.  Luckily I teach my classes which helps keep me moving.  Actually, one of the reasons I enjoy teaching so much is that it does a good job of keeping me motivated and active.

I eat my cookies, cake and other “unhealthy” foods. I sit more than I should and yes, I veg out in front of the TV for hours on end. Yet, I found a way to add exercise into my lifestyle because I know that at 58, I need to keep moving.

My hamstrings are way too tight. I could say, I can’t stretch them, yet I do daily stretches of them to work on making them looser  because I know it will help my chronic low back pain.  (I have a few bad discs)

What are your reasons for not adding at least 15 minutes of exercise a day to your schedule.  Are you so busy that this short of a time commitment would upset your  schedule apple cart? Do you realize that 15 minutes of stretching a day would make it easier to do the rest of the things you have scheduled?  I am sure that each of them includes some sort of movement, from walking, to bending or reaching.

Your aging will continue this year, and those aches, pains, excess weight, and hidden medical issues will continue to grow and become harder to fix.  Why not begin to reverse them now?  It all starts with a commitment to purge the idea of “I can’t” from your mindset and replace it with “I will” make a commitment to improve my life.

Have a wonderful New Year’s and let me know what if any changes you make.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

