Skip to content

Turn waiting into winning the balance challenge

April 10, 2013

I made a few stops today, running errands here and there.  At each stop I had to wait for at least three people ahead of me.

While doing so I made an observation.  Actually it is one I make quite often.  “What was it?” you may ask.

It was an observation of a habit and lost opportunity you may be just as “guilty” of as most everyone is.  

What I saw today at each stop were people waiting, simply that, just standing, slouched, uninspired, waiting for their turn for whatever it was they were in line for.

What a lost opportunity.  How often do you hear people say “I don’t have time to exercise”.  I am so busy…  and in the case this morning for 13 people, it was so busy waiting.

So what should they have been doing instead Stan?

Well, in observing the people I saw a mix of ages, from late teens to some seniors with a few looking over 80.  As mentioned above, all slouched and yes, a bit fidgety with growing impatience from, you got it, WAITING.

Most if not all of them could use some posture exercises, or at least some awareness training.  And I bet a good portion would benefit from some some leg strengthening and balance exercises.

And here is the kicker; they could all have been doing some simple and effective, slow and controlled exercises right where they were and made something happen instead of just waiting.

Here is short list of things you can do in line:

  1. Side to side weight shift
  2. Front to Back weight shift
  3. Double Heel Raises
  4. Alternating Heel raises
  5. Toe Taps
  6. Heel – Toe taps
  7. Wight Shift and Heel Raise
  8. Single Leg balance

And yes, there are more all with the beauty of no-one really knowing you are working on strength and balance.

The only one stopping you from getting started is you.  What are you waiting for?

2 Comments
  1. What an awesome post! I’m going to work on mixing some of these into angst-filled-waits-in-line! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the feedback. I do this all the time. People tell me I never stop moving 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

