Skip to content

The motivation factor: do you have it in you?

June 6, 2013

A great quote for today from Al Simon:

“Without motivation, it’s hard to achieve anything, whether it’s in mindfulness or any other area of life”.

Hi quote got me thinking about the following.

I find my work as a teacher is to provide information, examples, methods, and to act as a guide to a way of movement that helps people improve their quality of life.

Hopefully all together as a package I can help to move my students towards motivation. That I cannot do on my own for them.

Sometimes I hear very unhappy people of all ages speak about themselves on topics of:

  • Their weight
  • their balance
  • their overall fitness and health
  • their “lot in life”
  • their relationships
  • their spirituality
  • their work
  • their finances
  • and on and on and on

I ask why the allow themselves to continue down their path of despair (or unhappiness).

I get a few answers such as:

  • I have not hit bottom yet  (my God, I can imagine what their bottom much be like)
  • I need to figure out why I am doing this before I can change
  • I get what I deserve
  • I don’t know what else to do
  • I TRY to change but I fail
  • and many other excuses

What I don’t hear is:  I am not going to stand for this and I am making changes starting today and I will succeed NO MATTER WHAT. I find that most people cannot seem to find enough motivation within themselves.

My question today is:

What motivates you to make changes in your life or conversely, what motivates you to do nothing?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

