Skip to content

Each ChiForLiving student has their own reasons to exercise and boy do they vary

April 30, 2014

Time in the saddle of teaching has give me an  interesting observation from the classes I teach.

Outside the world where people are not wheeled in to participate into an activity as part of a facilities resident wellness initiative there is a world where people choose to make time to attend my ChiForLiving classes on their own initiative.

Although I have seniors (65 and above) as my target clients and students I will gladly invite any interested person to attend and hopefully stay on as a student. People come and in all kinds of shapes and sizes:

Group class at Gibson's Gym

Group class at Gibson’s Gym

There is so much to learn and the methodology I use offers such a wide range of benefits I feel there is something for everyone.  Of course I have found that what I teach is not everyone’s cup of tea. For those who do come and stay on as short and long term students their reasons vary widely. Some of the common ones include:

  • Increasing balance
  • Relaxation
  • Overall fitness
  • Building leg strength
  • Comfort and confidence
  • Concentration and breathing
  • The movement aspect itself
  • Pain remediation
  • Medical Condition Relief (Diabetes, Parkinson’s, etc)
  • To be with like minded individuals

One sixty plus year old woman uses the class as a warm up for other group classes that follow. One has seizures and her neurologist requested she some.  Another new senior is being sent by her nutritionist.

My poster child is 94 with neuropothy and wants to keep moving while another with Parkinson’s was sent by her doctor.

Me, I just like the movement and closing in on sixty want to keep moving as well and as long as I can.

What I find interesting is that while I am there to share knowledge and help folks along my own path of wellness, each of them while similar are there for their own reasons.

Yet, while there, we are all doing the same program and still getting what we come for.

How cool is that?  🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

