Skip to content

And then there were three

August 1, 2017

Once upon a time I knew nothing of Tai Chi or Qigong.   That time seems now so very far away.

Getting from there to where I am now was not a quick trip.  It has taken approximately  22 years and has been a journey of learning and practice and teaching, and of course, more learning.

It all reminds me of a quote by Lao Tzu: “The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”.

I had a series of steps in my current journey, all leading to the love of practice and teaching I now fully enjoy.

Step 1 ..  Meeting Sensei Tom

I had been introduced to him via a Martial Art class called Kateda which I started at age 39.  Sensei Tom used to come, sit in a lotus position and silently watch us, shaking his head in disbelief of what he saw us doing.  Our sensei in that class told us that Tom disapproved of the methodology of what we did.

A couple years later, after our Kateda disbanded I ran across Tom in our town, He looked at my eye and told me I needed to take his Tai Chi class.  I did and from the first class never looked back.

He taught me a great deal in 9 plus years about Tai Chi, Qigong and being the person it was helping me transfer into.  Now, 22 years later I am still learning how to implement what he taught me.  My time with him was a blessing I will ever be grateful for.

Step 2 .. Choosing the path of teaching

I was lucky.  The concepts, principals and movement of Tai Chi and Qigong came easily to me.  I was able to look at them, break them down and internalize them in a way that made sense to me.  I was able to make them my own.   I found that at times after class I would explain my interpretation to others and that they appreciated my insights and suggestions on how to use them in their own practice.

When I chose to teach it was a major change in my life. I had recently closed a programming / web design company and was in search of a new career.  Teaching chose me. I came into my head and yelled at me with a “Hey, you love this” kind of yell.

Through a set of circumstances I was lead to bring movement of Tai Chi and Qigong principals to the senior community which has been a great reward.  Working with a much ignored population and helping them live better all while improving my own skills at movement and teaching has been a win – win.

Step 3 .. Falling in love with Qigong

Most of my time, at least the first 8 years with Sensei Tom were learning Tai Chi. His version as a mix of those principals with some Qigong and Tai Kwon Do tossed in.

That is what I began my teaching with, and began the development of my own methodology and interpretations.  I now teach what works for me.

In the last 8 years I have learned a lot more about Qigong, and have benefited greatly from it. I have become more flexible, calmer and feel healthier from the practice of it.  I find it is also more beneficial to those I work with.

The study and practice of it continues to add to my toolbox of what I can offer and as I learn more, to my own confidence and well being as well.

So there you have it,  three simple steps that have taken a ton of work and many years to get through. Yet as I sit here today I know, without a doubt, it has been worth the trip.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

