Skip to content

Going without shoes to exercise – would you try it?

November 22, 2013

To shoe or not to shoe

I have been asked a lot recently by students (of all ages) if they should wear shoes, socks or go barefoot while doing my balance exercises and Tai Chi.

I was trained barefoot and find that the best way for myself to feel comfortable. I normally suggest this method yet also suggest that if folks use orthotics and need them for support to wear their shoes.

I did find this article today that talks about the benefits to your feet for exercising barefoot.

Check it out: http://www.builtlean.com/2012/10/31/barefoot-training-emily-splichal/

2 Comments
  1. Jenny permalink

    I’ve experimented with this actually. I think it depends more so on the activity. Balance exercises, yoga, pilates, tai chi etc-shoeless and sockless 🙂

    Like

  2. Totally agree with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

